Till startsida
Sitemap
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

Department of Economics

at School Business, Economics and Law

Department of Economics
PO Box 640
SE405 30 Göteborg
Delivery address: Vasagatan 1
Visiting address: Vasagatan 1, 411 24 Göteborg

Web Page: www.economics.handels.gu.se
Email: nek@handels.gu.se

Head of Department: Måns Söderbom

About the unit

We are an international and socially engaged department with staff from across the world. Our courses in economics and statistics are taught by highly qualified and dedicated teachers and researchers.

We are among the top 100 economics departments according the Tilburg University Economics Schools Research Ranking and the "Shanghai" Academic Ranking of World Universities. Our department is ranked second in Sweden and in the top tier of Scandinavian economics departments.

Our department conducts research in areas such as environmental, development, behavioural and financial economics. We put sustainability high on the agenda as reflected in several of our courses.

We are involved in the popular bachelor's programmes at the School of Business, Economics and Law: Economics and Business, and Social Environmental Science. Also we are responsible for the Master programmes in Economics and Finance as well as the Doctoral Programme in Economics.

Organisation

The Department of Economics is directed by the Head of Department. The head of Department works closely together with the Deputy Head of Department, the Vice Head of the Department and the Administrative Manager. Together they form the department’s management group. Members of the management group usually have distinct areas of responsibility, such as undergraduate education, graduate studies, research, work environment, administrative support, etc.

Collegial discussion is strongly encouraged in the department. Such discussions offer faculty opportunities to provide input into various decision-making processes, and can be held within the department’s advisory council and in the preparatory committees for research and education. The advisory council, which includes representatives for researchers/lecturers, administrative staff and students, is chaired by the Head of Department.

The preparatory committee for research (Forsknings- och forskarutbildningskommittén; FFUK) handles strategic questions related to research and PhD education, and is currently chaired by the Head of Department.

The preparatory committee for education (Grundutbildningskommittén; GRUK) handles strategic questions related to education at the bachelor and master level, and is currently chaired by the Vice Head of the Department.

Both of these committees advise the Head of Department on matters related to research and education, respectively, directly or through the advisory council. The department’s work environment group is a forum for the monitoring and development of the department’s work environment. It is currently chaired by the Deputy Head of Department.

Staff

There are about 100 people working at the Department of Economics in the following categories: professional services, lectures and researchers, doctoral students, professors, and visiting professors.
Contact information to all staff

Latest publications

Greater risk for more money: the economics of negotiating condom use amongst sex workers in South Africa
Gavin George, Siphumelele Nene, Sean Beckett, Dick Durevall, Annika Lindskog et al.
AIDS Care - Psychological and Socio-Medical Aspects of AIDS/HIV, Journal article 2019
Journal article

Non-Life-Threatening Ailments and Rational Patience
Kristian Bolin, Michael R. Caputo
Gothenburg, University of Gothenburg, Report 2019
Report

Child Human Capital – The Importance of Parenting Style
Kristian Bolin, Michael R. Caputo
Gothenburg, University of Gothenburg, Report 2019
Report

Compound Returns
Adam Farago, Erik Hjalmarsson
Gothenburg, University of Gothenburg, Report 2019
Report

Experimental Evidence on Cooperation, Political Affiliation, and Group Size
Ronja Helénsdotter
Gothenburg, University of Gothenburg, Report 2019
Report

Female leaders and their response to the social environment
L. Gangadharan, T. Jain, P. Maitra, Joseph Vecci
Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, Journal article 2019
Journal article

The land use change time-accounting failure
Marion Dupoux
Ecological Economics, Journal article 2019
Journal article

The sound of silence: A license to be selfish
G. Di Bartolomeo, Martin Dufwenberg, S. Papa
Economics Letters, Journal article 2019
Journal article

Frustration, aggression, and anger in leader-follower games
P. Battigalli, Martin Dufwenberg, A. Smith
Games and Economic Behavior, Journal article 2019
Journal article

People

Showing 1 - 50 of 111

Name Title Phone Email
Okui, Ryo Visiting Professor
Farago, Adam Senior lecturer +46 31 7862635 adam.farago@cff.gu.se
van Vuuren, Aico Professor +46 31 7866516 aico.van.vuuren@economics.gu.se
Herbertsson, Alexander Senior lecturer +46 31 7861394 alexander.herbertsson@cff.gu.se
Akay, Alpaslan Senior lecturer +46 31 7864122 alpaslan.akay@gu.se
Boman, Anders Senior lecturer, Deputy Head +46 31 7862645 anders.boman@economics.gu.se
Berggren, Andrea Doctoral student +46 31 7866172 andrea.berggren@economics.gu.se
Dzemski, Andreas Universitetslektor/​biträdande +46 31 7866512 andreas.dzemski@economics.gu.se
Lange, Andreas Visiting Professor andreas.lange@gu.se
Mitrut, Andreea Senior lecturer +46 31 7861256 andreea.mitrut@economics.gu.se
Tran, Anh Vu Doctoral student anh.vu.tran@economics.gu.se
Räätäri Nyström, Ann-Christin Human resources officer +46 31 7865302 ann-christin.raatari.nystrom@economics.gu.se
Isaksson, Ann-Sofie Researcher +46 31 7862553 ann-sofie.isaksson@economics.gu.se
Veiderpass, Ann Senior lecturer +46 31 7861359 ann.veiderpass@economics.gu.se
Ågren, Anna-Karin Programme coordinator, Study counsellor +46 31 7861340 anna-karin.agren@economics.gu.se
Bindler, Anna Assistant Professor +46 31 7865113 anna.bindler@economics.gu.se
Lindahl, Anna PhD Student anna.lindahl@economics.gu.se
Florin, Annika Study administrator +46 31 7861366 annika.florin@economics.gu.se
Lindskog, Annika Senior lecturer +46 31 7864412 annika.lindskog@economics.gu.se
Pihl, Ariel Postdoctor +46 31 7864389 ariel.pihl@economics.gu.se
Bigsten, Arne +46 31 7861358 arne.bigsten@economics.gu.se
Löfgren, Åsa Senior lecturer, Deputy Head +46 31 7861375 asa.lofgren@economics.gu.se
Sandelin, Bo Professor emeritus +46 31 7861355 bo.sandelin@economics.gu.se
Sjöholm, Carolin Doctoral student carolin.sjoholm@economics.gu.se
Nadeau, Charles Senior lecturer +46 31 7865247 charles.nadeau@economics.gu.se
Varkki, Christina Study administrator +46 31 7861325 christina.varkki@economics.gu.se
Ek, Claes Researcher +46 31 7865249 claes.ek@economics.gu.se
Bilén, David Doctoral student david.bilen@economics.gu.se
Fang, Dawei Assistant Professor +46 31 7861330 dawei.fang@cff.gu.se
Durevall, Dick Professor +46 31 7861350 dick.durevall@economics.gu.se
Elsner, Dominik Doctoral student dominik.elsner@economics.gu.se
Lokrantz, Elin Research assistant elin.lokrantz@economics.gu.se
Lampi, Elina Senior lecturer +46 31 7861393 elina.lampi@economics.gu.se
Földi, Elizabeth Project coordinator +46 31 7861347 elizabeth.foldi@economics.gu.se
Lövgren, Emma Study administrator +46 31 7861332 emma.lovgren@economics.gu.se
Hjalmarsson, Erik Professor +46 31 7861346 erik.hjalmarsson@economics.gu.se
Ranehill, Eva Assistant Professor +46 31 7864987 eva.ranehill@economics.gu.se
Carlsson, Evert Senior lecturer +46 31 7862556 evert.carlsson@cff.gu.se
Demeke, Eyoual PhD Student eyoual.demeke@economics.gu.se
Maican, Florin Researcher florin.maican@economics.gu.se
Carlsson, Fredrik Professor +46 31 7864174 fredrik.carlsson@economics.gu.se
Köhlin, Gunnar Senior lecturer +46 31 7864426 gunnar.kohlin@efd.gu.se
Kjellsson, Gustav Senior lecturer +46 31 7862603 gustav.kjellsson@economics.gu.se
Eggert, Håkan Senior lecturer +46 31 7864175 hakan.eggert@economics.gu.se
Bjurek, Hans Senior lecturer +46 31 7864759 hans.bjurek@economics.gu.se
Congdon Fors, Heather Senior lecturer +46 31 7864427 heather.fors@economics.gu.se
Ho, Hoang-Anh Doctoral student +46 31 7861367 hoang-anh.ho@economics.gu.se
van Den Bijgaart, Inge Assistant Professor +46 31 7861368 inge.van.den.bijgaart@economics.gu.se
Enlund, Jakob Doctoral student +46 31 7861339 jakob.enlund@economics.gu.se
Cardell, Jennifer Research assistant jennifer.cardell@economics.gu.se

Showing 1 - 50 of 111

Showing 81 - 90 of 3286

2018

Strategic technology policy as a supplement to renewable energy standards
Carolyn Fischer, Mads Greaker, Knut Einar Rosendahl
Resource and Energy Economics, Journal article 2018
Journal article

Maximal predictability under long-term mean reversion
Erik Hjalmarsson
Journal of Empirical Finance, Journal article 2018
Journal article

Path Dependency in Jury Decision Making
Anna Bindler, Randi Hjalmarsson
Journal of the European Economic Association, Journal article 2018
Journal article

Job-search periods for welfare applicants: Evidence from a randomized experiment
Nadine Ketel, Jonneke Bolhaar, Bas van der Klaauw
American Economic Journal: Applied Economics, Journal article 2018
Journal article

King of the Hill: Giving backward induction its best shot
Martin Dufwenberg, M. Van Essen
Games and Economic Behavior, Journal article 2018
Journal article

Diversification of Human Capital Investments in Rural Ethiopia
Annika Lindskog
European Journal of Development Research, Journal article 2018
Journal article

I lie? We lie! Why? Experimental evidence on a dishonesty shift in groups
Martin G. Kocher, S. Schudy, L. Spantig
Management Science, Journal article 2018
Journal article

Showing 81 - 90 of 3286

Page Manager: Marie Andersson|Last update: 1/27/2017
Share:

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?