Till startsida
Sitemap
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

Contact form








 


Note! If you want an answer on a question you must specify your email address




Department of Economics

at School Business, Economics and Law

Department of Economics
PO Box 640
SE405 30 Göteborg
Delivery address: Vasagatan 1
Visiting address: Vasagatan 1, 411 24 Göteborg

Web Page: www.economics.handels.gu.se
Email: nek@handels.gu.se

Head of Department: Måns Söderbom

About the unit

We are an international and socially engaged department with staff from across the world. Our courses in economics and statistics are taught by highly qualified and dedicated teachers and researchers.

We are among the top 100 economics departments according the Tilburg University Economics Schools Research Ranking and the "Shanghai" Academic Ranking of World Universities. Our department is ranked second in Sweden and in the top tier of Scandinavian economics departments.

Our department conducts research in areas such as environmental, development, behavioural and financial economics. We put sustainability high on the agenda as reflected in several of our courses.

We are involved in the popular bachelor's programmes at the School of Business, Economics and Law: Economics and Business, and Social Environmental Science. Also we are responsible for the Master programmes in Economics and Finance as well as the Doctoral Programme in Economics.

Organisation

The Department of Economics is directed by the Head of Department. The head of Department works closely together with the Deputy Head of Department, the Vice Head of the Department and the Administrative Manager. Together they form the department’s management group. Members of the management group usually have distinct areas of responsibility, such as undergraduate education, graduate studies, research, work environment, administrative support, etc.

Collegial discussion is strongly encouraged in the department. Such discussions offer faculty opportunities to provide input into various decision-making processes, and can be held within the department’s advisory council and in the preparatory committees for research and education. The advisory council, which includes representatives for researchers/lecturers, administrative staff and students, is chaired by the Head of Department.

The preparatory committee for research (Forsknings- och forskarutbildningskommittén; FFUK) handles strategic questions related to research and PhD education, and is currently chaired by the Head of Department.

The preparatory committee for education (Grundutbildningskommittén; GRUK) handles strategic questions related to education at the bachelor and master level, and is currently chaired by the Vice Head of the Department.

Both of these committees advise the Head of Department on matters related to research and education, respectively, directly or through the advisory council. The department’s work environment group is a forum for the monitoring and development of the department’s work environment. It is currently chaired by the Deputy Head of Department.

Staff

There are about 100 people working at the Department of Economics in the following categories: professional services, lectures and researchers, doctoral students, professors, and visiting professors.
Contact information to all staff

Latest publications

Environmentally differentiated port dues
Linda Styhre, J von Bahr, Rickard Bergqvist, S Bäckström, Marta Gonzalez-Aregall et al.
Gothenburg, IVL Swedish Environmental Research Institute, Report 2019
Report

Altruism and the pressure to share: Lab evidence from Tanzania
S. D. Falco, R. Lokina, Peter Martinsson, P. Pin
PLoS ONE, Journal article 2019
Journal article

Improvement of public transport services for non-cycling travelers
Margareta Friman, Tommy Gärling, Dick Ettema
Travel Behaviour and Society, Journal article 2019
Journal article

Pre- and Post-Birth Components of Intergenerational Persistence in Health and Longevity: Lessons from a Large Sample of Adoptees
Evelina Björkegren, Mikael Lindahl, Mårten Palme, Emilia Simeonova
Gothenburg, University of Gothenburg, Report 2019
Report

The Impact of Abortion on Crime and Crime-Related Behavior
Randi Hjalmarsson, Andreea Mitrut, Cristian Pop-Eleches
Gothenburg, University of Gothenburg, Report 2019
Report

Stock Price Co-Movement and the Foundations of Pairs Trading
Adam Farago, Erik Hjalmarsson
Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis, Journal article 2019
Journal article

Fast and Slow Investments in Asset Markets: Influences on Risk Taking
Tommy Gärling, Dawei Fang, Martin Holmén, Patrik Michaelsen
Behavioral Finance Working Group Conference. London: 6-7 June 2019, Conference contribution 2019
Conference contribution

People

Showing 1 - 50 of 110

Name Title Phone Email
Bigsten, Arne +46 31 7861358 arne.bigsten@economics.gu.se
Gärling, Tommy +46 31 7864669 tommy.garling@psy.gu.se
Sterner, Thomas +46 31 7861377 thomas.sterner@economics.gu.se
Bindler, Anna Assistant Professor +46 31 7865113 anna.bindler@economics.gu.se
Chen, Li Assistant Professor +46 31 7866151 li.chen@economics.gu.se
Fang, Dawei Assistant Professor +46 31 7861330 dawei.fang@cff.gu.se
Ketel, Nadine Assistant Professor nadine.ketel@economics.gu.se
Lombardi, Maria Assistant Professor +46 31 7861261 maria.lombardi@economics.gu.se
Muller, Paul Assistant Professor +46 31 7866515 paul.muller@economics.gu.se
Ranehill, Eva Assistant Professor +46 31 7864987 eva.ranehill@economics.gu.se
van Den Bijgaart, Inge Assistant Professor +46 31 7861368 inge.van.den.bijgaart@economics.gu.se
Andersson, Marie Communications officer +46 31 7861349 marie.andersson@economics.gu.se
Andersson, Lina Doctoral student +46 31 7865002 lina.andersson@economics.gu.se
Berggren, Andrea Doctoral student +46 31 7866172 andrea.berggren@economics.gu.se
Bilén, David Doctoral student david.bilen@economics.gu.se
Elsner, Dominik Doctoral student dominik.elsner@economics.gu.se
Enlund, Jakob Doctoral student +46 31 7861339 jakob.enlund@economics.gu.se
Hansson, Magnus Doctoral student magnus.hansson@economics.gu.se
Ho, Hoang-Anh Doctoral student +46 31 7861367 hoang-anh.ho@economics.gu.se
Inkinen, Ville Doctoral student ville.inkinen@economics.gu.se
Jeppsson, Louise Doctoral student +46 31 7866172 louise.jeppsson@economics.gu.se
Kiss, Tamás Doctoral student +46 31 7865904 tamas.kiss@cff.gu.se
Norrgren, Lisa Doctoral student +46 31 7861283 lisa.norrgren@economics.gu.se
Rubio Ramos, Melissa Doctoral student +46 31 7861360 melissa.rubio@economics.gu.se
Schürz, Simon Doctoral student +46 31 7864170 simon.schurz@economics.gu.se
Sjöholm, Carolin Doctoral student carolin.sjoholm@economics.gu.se
Tesemma, Tewodros Doctoral student tewodros.tesemma@economics.gu.se
Tian, Ruijie Doctoral student +46 31 7865002 ruijie.tian@economics.gu.se
Tran, Anh Vu Doctoral student anh.vu.tran@economics.gu.se
Oliveira, Selma Finance administrator +46 31 7861374 selma.oliveira@economics.gu.se
Jönefors, Mona Finance officer +46 31 7862555 mona.jonefors@economics.gu.se
Räätäri Nyström, Ann-Christin Human resources officer +46 31 7865302 ann-christin.raatari.nystrom@economics.gu.se
Siirak, Maria Human resources officer +46 31 7865846 maria.siirak@economics.gu.se
Ransgård, Margareta Institutionssamordnare +46 31 7864194 margareta.ransgard@economics.gu.se
Forsberg, Katarina Intendent +46 31 7865240 katarina.forsberg@cff.gu.se
Ruist, Joakim Lecturer joakim.ruist@economics.gu.se
Ruist, Joakim Lecturer joakim.ruist@economics.gu.se
Demeke, Eyoual PhD Student eyoual.demeke@economics.gu.se
Lindahl, Anna PhD Student +46 31 7865904 anna.lindahl@economics.gu.se
Moutakis, Mikael PhD Student +46 31 7861266 mikael.moutakis@economics.gu.se
Mukanjari, Samson PhD Student +46 31 7861367 samson.mukanjari@economics.gu.se
Pirhonen, Laura PhD Student laura.pirhonen@economics.gu.se
Yashodha, Yashodha PhD Student +46 31 7862552 yashodha@economics.gu.se
Pihl, Ariel Postdoctor +46 31 7864389 ariel.pihl@economics.gu.se
Bolin, Kristian Professor +46 31 7865251 kristian.bolin@gu.se
Carlsson, Fredrik Professor +46 31 7864174 fredrik.carlsson@economics.gu.se
Durevall, Dick Professor +46 31 7861350 dick.durevall@economics.gu.se
Hjalmarsson, Erik Professor +46 31 7861346 erik.hjalmarsson@economics.gu.se
Hjalmarsson, Randi Professor +46 31 7861248 randi.hjalmarsson@economics.gu.se
Holmén, Martin Professor +46 31 7866442 martin.holmen@cff.gu.se

Showing 1 - 50 of 110

Showing 41 - 50 of 3277

2019

Personality and Positionality
Alpaslan Akay
Gothenburg, University of Gothenburg, Report 2019
Report

Young Adults’ Attitudes Toward Borrowing
Amelie Gamble, Tommy Gärling, Patrik Michaelsen
Indebtedness in Early Adulthood: Causes and Remedies, Palgrave Macmillan, Chapter in book 2019
Chapter in book

Policy design for the Anthropocene
Thomas Sterner, Edward B. Barbier, Ian Bateman, Inge van den Bijgaart, Anne Sophie Crépin et al.
Nature Sustainability, Journal article 2019
Journal article

Did California Paid Family Leave Impact Infant Health?
Ariel Pihl, G. Basso
Journal of Policy Analysis and Management, Journal article 2019
Journal article

Showing 41 - 50 of 3277

Page Manager: Marie Andersson|Last update: 1/27/2017
Share:

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?